Options

How many of you still do programming?

LionelTeoLionelTeo Member Posts: 526 ■■■■■■■□□□
I am an infosec professional working largely in a SOC enviroment, my daily duty is to monitor for traffic, both in compliance and attack, as well as to document the procedures down for investigation, explanation and analysis for both audit and understanding purposes.

Recently I had decided to move back to programming due to curiousity and to learn python, ruby, C, perl, assembly for the next milestone of my knowledge. Back in my times at school I had only learn Java and C++. The last time I touch was a shell script for google hacking 2 years ago, and before that, majority was in school, andthat was about 6 years ago. Learning back programming was tough.

So while going through the book, I painfully type those examples one by one and I follow along. I was happy that I manage to create a Sled Generator (to replace random characters for x90) in C last night as part of a book challenge and got it working (there was no answer given or found online). I was delighted I still haven't "lost it" and manage to get to piece a working codes from research.

While at it, I am just curious on this, how many of you are still in programming, or plan to start on it back in the future?

Comments

• Options
    the_Grinchthe_Grinch Member Posts: 4,165 ■■■■■■■■■■
    It is about the same for me. I don't work at a SOC, but do work in regulation/compliance. Recently we've been developing our own tools to accomplish certain tasks and Python has been the go to language. I had tried to start learning it on my own, but without a reason I never got far. Now I am doing surprisingly well. I figure I'm staying put for awhile, but I think now I will make sure my next role includes a fair amount of programming.
    WIP:
    PHP
    Kotlin
    Intro to Discrete Math
    Programming Languages
    Work stuff
  • Options
    YFZbluYFZblu Member Posts: 1,462 ■■■■■■■■□□