CHFIv8 (312-49) exam/course review

bryguybryguy Member Posts: 190
I recently passed the CHFIv8 exam, and thought I'd share my learning experience with those who may be looking to do the same.

Currently, I'm enrolled in WGU's MS:ISA program, and the CHFI is part of the currciculum. I have no specific background in forensics other than an introduction to Criminology class I took in college 15+ years ago. However, I have taken other EC-Council exams, so I knew what to expect to a certain degree.

Learning Materials:

Official EC-Council CHFI text
Officical EC-Council iLabs, and iClass
uCertify

The official EC-Council CHFI text provided appeared to be out of date, and likely mapped to the CHFIv7 learning obectives. I read a couple of chapters, after which, I found that the video from the iClass just didn't match up with what was presented in the text. For the purposes of passing the exam, I found little value in the material, and after reading a couple chapters, I skipped the rest.

The iClass material, I thought was very informative, the presenter didn't just read the slides like the presenter did for the CEHv7 material. You could tell that the presenter had real world experience in the field of forensics, and although he could be a little windy, at times, I thought the videos and the presenter were top notch.

It's worth noting that the video is streamed in high quality, mp4 video. My 1.54MB connection sputtered and buffered on multiple occassions, so much so that you might consider using Flashgot, or similar utility to download the video, and watch the vidoes offline, if you have less than a 4MB connection.