Options

CCNP Journey- The Jedi

ChitownjediChitownjedi Member Posts: 578 ■■■■■□□□□□
Yo,

I'm currently aiming for this CCNP, as I am a stay at home dad and wanted to maximize this opportunity of being able to study almost full-time (when I'm not pulling the kid off the ceiling.)

I am studying the Simplified Series: Bryant Advantage Series: CBT Nuggets. I hope that these resources will be enough, as well as the learning network and using the knowledge that is the Internet to piece together and holes that may present.

I have a home lab set up with 6 routers (2610s 2610xms 2620's 2620x) as well as 2 3550 Switches and a 2950.

I've been and will continue to use GNS3 for most of my labbing during my studies as its simply faster and easier to implement quick configs and tops for labbing a topic from the books.

I am wowed at how much in depth they go into EIGRP, I am probably going to finish this chapter today, as I took last week slow to ease back into the routing concepts and I just past the CCNA Sec, and hadn't been involved in Cisco concepts for over a year. Surprisingly I have not forgotten as much as I thought, I think I retained half of the information, as there was nothing that made me so "wow really?" everything was just like 'Yeah, that's right!"

I'm putting in about 6 hours a day, minimum so I'm aiming for about 200 hours of study for each exam before testing. I'll check back in.

Comments

• Options
    ChitownjediChitownjedi Member Posts: 578 ■■■■■□□□□□
    My Approach:

I am going to tackle this one the same way i've done every exam up to date.

Cover the material at least 1x from two separate resources, with an overall review of all topics within the last 10 days of the exam.

When video training is available I also cover that as a secondary form of stimulus and retention in the vain that the brain learns and absorbs more when you give more sensory stimulation.