Passed A+, what next?

jam3s121jam3s121 Member Posts: 26 ■□□□□□□□□□
I bought my A+ Mike meyers textbook exactly 5 weeks ago and as of this past Saturday I passed A+ 802
my scores were A+ 801 824 and A+ 802 was a 838, I was surprised with both scores because I was very nervous and anxious on both. Used PM to study as well.

What is the next logical test to look at? I have been considering MTA 98-349 and then taking MSCA 70 680 since I want to work in a desktop support role hopefully for a few years to gain experience. I know a lot of people on these forums go straight to net+ though so I'm curious what I should look at? Is net+ something I really need for help desk/desktop support? I have no work experience currently but do need a full time job and I eventually want to get a BS or some degree that holds some weight but WGU requires work experience I believe. I have a AS in criminal justice.

Few people told me MTA not worth it if I have A+, I was also considering just getting a MOS certification just because I'm seeing a lot of listings asking for people proficient in office 2010/2013 and don't think it would be very hard/

Comments

• PlantwizPlantwiz Mod Posts: 5,057 Mod
    Frequently, yes, folks will get the trio, A+, NET+ and SEC+ before moving forward.

What you do will depend on where you want to go with your career and what type of problems you enjoy working with (and are good at solving). If you are not going to be working on networks and will be handling workstations and maybe the occasional server (but likely not) then A+ and some OS type certs will be helpful.

I would work on gaining some type of experience. Start volunteering at non-profits and/or see if you can job-shadow someone willing to take you on and a 'free' or really cheap internship. If you are bothering to go for a full degree in IT, then I would put less effort into certs at the moment, but not forget them completely.