NTFS Security - Quick Question

mgeorgemgeorge Member Posts: 774 ■■■□□□□□□□
First off, if your not MCSA or higher, dont attempt to answer this question ^_^ im sure i would have already tried all your stupid answers ^_^

on the other hand, i have a file server im implementing into a 2k3 network infrastructure running windows server 2003 r2 enterprise.

i have a share named File Library and it is setup acordingly with the correct NTFS permissions (im 100% positive this is correct) ive been working with ntfs permissions for over 5 years and can do them in my sleep.

for the tough part, when mapped to the share, under a standard user with modify permissions to a given server full UNC;
\\ukcph-fsv01\file library\netusers\john

the user john has all permissions but change permission and take ownership.

when trying to upload a file while logged on oh john, i get access denied. (im sure ya thinkin its security and nope its not, the user effectively has the correct permissions to the dir), no acl icd is denied period nor is the ntfs acls inherited. The only way i can place a file in the dir period is with admin rights. The server uses the new File Magement that applys soft/hard quota's. each dir is given 2GB space hard quota.

has any one had this problem yet? is their any setting in security conf that would prevent any users other then admins to store files on shares? (i dont recall a setting like this) but if its somthing new in R2 then i'd love to be enlightened. its driving me nuts.

if no one can give me an answer that works, then ill contact ms ^_^
There is no place like 127.0.0.1

Comments

• seuss_ssuesseuss_ssues Member Posts: 629
    mgeorge27 wrote:
    First off, if your not MCSA or higher, dont attempt to answer this question ^_^ im sure i would have already tried all your stupid answers ^_^

Well your arrogance is keeping me from answering your question. I know more people without ANY certs that are Admins, engineers, etc than i do with them.