First Post -- Passed CISSP first time!

AverageJoeAverageJoe Member Posts: 316 ■■■■□□□□□□
I've been lurking for a little while, learning from everyone here, so thought I'd share with the group my experience.

First, I'm in the Air Force and have been in Comm or IT for a long time. Early on I was an electronics tech and did some PC help desk support, but then moved to computer programming and database administration, then on to more managerial duties. I've only barely been what I'd consider technical in the last 10 years, but I've worked with or been in charge of a lot of highly technical (brilliant!) folks.

Also, just as a point of reference, I started out in the military right out of high school with no college, but I've taken a lot of night and online classes over the years, having earned a BS in computer stuff and a tech mgt MA. I took my CISM for the first time in December and passed, but I did not have a structured study plan so I wanted to do things differently for the CISSP. I don't have Sec+, but I do have NSTISSI / CNSSI 4011, 4012, 4015 and 4016 certs.

When I decided about 8 weeks ago to schedule the exam I set 24 April as my test date... the day before my birthday. That had to be lucky, right? I'm currently assigned to the Pentagon and live a ways out, and I rely on public transportation for my ride home. So I used my typical "read on the bus ride home and whenever I'm standing in line" strategy (I try to always have something to read with me) and started reading the same day.

3 books in 8 weeks, cover to cover, reading the chapters in the order they're in the book.

- 5 weeks on CISSP All-in-one, 6th ed by Shon Harris -- focused on trying to get the gist of each topic--understanding, but not necessarily deep understanding. I re-read a few sections as I went, but honestly, the book was too big to get in a "I must understand every detail" frame of mind. I wanted to at least be introduced to every topic and know some of the vocab and concepts.