pondering on buying a lab-kit, questions

beaucaldwellbeaucaldwell Member Posts: 53 ■■□□□□□□□□
First and foremost when it comes to networking, I'm uber-noob. I've been doing Tier 2 site support for 6 years so i know that side of stuff real well, but I'm sick of dealing with end-users and their outlook issues. As far as networking goes I know port activating, I can run cables from multiple data closets, I've helped install SCSI cards, VoIP stuff, but when it comes to 99.9999% of what I'm going to be learning for my CCNA just consider me fresh meat... Be brutally honest with me.

I'm the type of person that learns super quick, but better with having my hands on equipment. I have my CCENT/CCNA kit with labs, but I figured I'd learn much more in the long-run by getting a lab setup at my home. I have access to a lab at work which would save me money, we have a 2950, (2) 2970's, 2921 and an ASA 5505. Those mean nothing to me now, could be crap/gold for all I know, but I don't really have time too much extra time use it for long enough to sink my head into it. I will use it, but I'd like to have my own gear that I can spend an entire day on on the weekend and really get down on some learning.

I'm also the type of person that doesn't like to buy cheap stuff and upgrade later, I'd rather spend the money and get something that is going to be quality, and be useful to me when I go to expand on my CCNA to maybe my CCNP or CCNA Security. I'm thinking of investing in a solid kit with my tax return that can do just that... Now I've read plenty of people advising to not get kits, to go out and buy each item individually via ebay or similar to piece it together. I understand the message in that but personally I'd rather just buy it at once, and have a mini-christmas and get the show on the road.