Options

WGU course question

Disgruntled3lfDisgruntled3lf Member Posts: 77 ■■■□□□□□□□
Hey, I'm wondering if this is doable. I am a student at WGU and I'm about to start my second semester. I completed 35 hours last semester and would like to do a similar amount this go around. I'd like to take the 2 linux+ courses (6 CU), the net+ (4 CU), CCENT (6 CU), CCNA (6 CU), CCNA Security (6 CU) for a total of 28 credits. My question is how doable is this? I have basic experience in networking but no Cisco experience. I will be ready to pass L+ withing 2 weeks of the start of term which gives me about 6 months to focus on networking. My mentor seems cautious and keeps warning me about the CCNA but I would like the opinion of you fine people.

Comments

• Options
    EngRobEngRob Member Posts: 247 ■■■□□□□□□□
    It sounds ambitious but not impossible, although without Cisco experience it could be really pushing it. Why don’t you just start with Linux+, Net+, and CCENT and see how much time you have left after that? That would meet your minimum term requirement and if you’re done well within the 6 months you can sit the CCNA (and then the CCNA Sec if you have time). Not finishing a course hurts your On time progress (or whatever it's called).

On a side note, I’m doing just CCENT and CCNA for next term starting May 1st. I will see how I get on for time :). I haven’t used Cisco in 10+ years so I’m basically starting again.

Good luck!
  • Options
    Disgruntled3lfDisgruntled3lf Member Posts: 77 ■■■□□□□□□□
    Oh I didn't plan to add all of them at the start. I'm going to add L+, N+, CCENT then add on as I go. No point risking failure if it isn't necessary. I was just curious as to the volume of information. They list the each Cisco exam as 8 weeks but they listed the A+ as 8 weeks as well. So their times have been grossly overestimated in each course.
  • Options
    stryder144stryder144 Member Posts: 1,684 ■■■■■■■■□□