The MCPD Limbo - where is the good stuff?

Hello all -

I am a long time programmer that is just getting started on certifications (never needed them lol).

Looking at the MCPD certs and I notice that they are so new that there seem to be hardly any good resources out there.

Anyone happen to know some good sites / study guides / practice exams?

Comments

• JDMurrayJDMurray Admin Posts: 13,023 Admin
    Hey bcairns, welcome to this forum!

The MCPD exams are so new that the best site for info is at Microsoft itself. I'm sure publishers are rushing to get out MCPD books, but I don't expect to see much before the end of this year.

http://www.microsoft.com/learning/mcp/mcpd/
  • bcairnsbcairns Member Posts: 280
    jdmurray wrote:
    Hey bcairns, welcome to this forum!

The MCPD exams are so new that the best site for info is at Microsoft itself. I'm sure publishers are rushing to get out MCPD books, but I don't expect to see much before the end of this year.

http://www.microsoft.com/learning/mcp/mcpd/

Yes I see that too :D

After reviewing the certs I am going after the MCPD Enterprise Developer.

Today I ordered the book:

MCTS Self-Paced Training Kit (Exam 70-536): Microsoft® .NET Framework 2.0—Application Development Foundation

http://www.microsoft.com/MSPress/books/9469.asp

The other books are coming out in October and December - will have to get some other certs done (possible tward MCSE) while waiting on the books to come out.

Been working with .Net since it first came out so I imagine a lot of it will be review. I took the "skills assesment" you mentioned in another post and scored a 72% the first time out...not familiar with MS tests is that passing or failing?

I have never taken a MS test before so I am curious, if I am reading this correctly, I will actually get 5 certs out of this....

http://www.microsoft.com/learning/mcp/mcpd/entapp/default.mspx

Exam 70–536 = MCP
    Exam 70–526 = MCTS: .NET Framework 2.0 Windows Applications