Options

Best wireless AP/WLC combo for someone on a budget?

Cat5Cat5 Member Posts: 297 ■■■□□□□□□□
I'm currently studying for the NA:W, and I plan on moving on to the NP:W afterward, and I'd like to get some equipment now to familiarize myself with the GUI interfaces if nothing else. I'm having to start small, because I'm on a very limited budget. I thought I could start with an affordable AP and WLC off eBay to start with, then add another AP and a server later.

What are some recommendations/models for this? What kind of cost am I looking at, also? (And on a side note, I totally agree with another poster elsewhere that an employer who needs a wireless engineer isn't going to settle for someone who just dabbles in wireless for his company's needs, and an NA:W just won't cut it. There *is* a demand for higher-level wireless knowledge out there.)

Comments

• Options
    JollycorkJollycork Member Posts: 149
    Wireless in business is more than just the equipment being used and how to configure it. I would first start with a businesses security and access needs, then the equipment to meet those needs. Example, a small business might only want wireless for in house equipment that includes their tablets and BYODs. The business might also have wired/wirless desktops/laptops they use with sensitive information on them. The business has no plans for offering customers wireless internet access. The small business is basic network infrastructure with no enterprise class equipment. The business has no on premise IT workers.

Another business might have the same needs, but anticipate providing customers wireless internet access. That business might have some enterprise class equipment. The business has no on premise IT, but has contract IT.

With those design requirements, determining what equipment is needed with what capabilities can determine what equipment a lab should have.