Breaking into Security

Danielm7Danielm7 Member Posts: 2,310 ■■■■■■■■□□
OK, I know there have been a lot of requests on how to get into the infosec field without experience, but I have a lot of other experience, just not in a "100% security" position. I'll give some details.

I just finished (as in haven't even gotten my final call scheduled) my BS in IT:Security at WGU. As most of you are aware that isn't a 100% security focused degree but an IT degree with a specialization. With that I got a pile of certs including the Security+ and CCNA Security.

I have over 10 years in IT, I've done a lot of different things, JOAT for sure, from servers/networks to ecommerce and website work. I want to specialize, I like wearing a lot of hats but I keep ending up in these little companies where I do everything but I'd like to focus more.

All of the information security analyst type positions that I've looked at specify a number of years, usually 3+ in a security specific role. Also, for most of them they specify a CISSP as either a prereq or highly desirable. I'm not talking senior security engineer type roles either. I don't think you have to be everything they ask for, but I feel like a lot of what I know now is book/lab knowledge so it makes me reluctant.

I do have to do a total revamp of my resume and I'd like to take some time to refresh myself on the material for the certs that I do have as I don't work with a lot of that material daily now. Is it worth going for something like the SSCP? Is that around the same level as the Security+? I'd like to do the CISSP in the future but I don't know if it's wise to try to study for that for the next few months and then still be stuck with the "no security specific job experience" issue afterwards.