When to go for the CISSP exam

keremoztkeremozt Member Posts: 8 ■□□□□□□□□□
Hello everybody,

I've been following this forum since 2 months silently without passing and it helped me much putting myself on the correct way to pass the CISSP exam.

I left my job 2 months ago and as I had time, I decided to go for CISSP certification as I now finally have time to do it.

I started looking for resources and with the help of this forum started working several hours each day from the AIO book. After a week I understood that my progress is too slow and it seemed to me a bit irrelevant (first chapter of AIO is all about architectures and frameworks). I switched to Eric Conrad's 2nd edition which helped me to quickly finish all the chapters in a month with 6 hours studying per day during weekdays. I read 11th hour books twice after that so that I remember well everything because even though I have 9 years of experience mainly in Telecoms, Operations Security, BCP and DRP domains, there are really too many new concepts to learn.

Once I made sure that I miss nothing major I started doing tests. I finished all the questions in AIO Total Tester, end of chapter questions in EC book and several full length tests in cccure as well as some other resources. After seeing the approaches of some other guys in the forum, I resumed my test scores as below per domains.

AIO book, end of chapter tests

1. Access Control %91
2. Telecoms %85
3. Risk Management %79
4. Software Development %73
5. Security Architecture %58
6. Operation Security %85
7. BCP and DRP %91
8. Cryptography %75
9. Legal %71
10. Physical %80

End of Book Test %79 ( 112/142)

In 4 full tests I took from cccure, I scored %81, %79, %80, %80

Eric Conrad website full tests %80, %81