Looking to become a System Administrator, where to next?

UltimasUltimas Member Posts: 27 ■□□□□□□□□□
Hey everyone. I've been lurking on this forum for quite some time so I figured I might as well create an account :)

I will finish my A+ Exam Wednesday (I did really good on the first half, but my wife and I recently had a baby so I stopped studying) and feel like my next steps are MCSA Windows 7 by July, and upgrade to MCSA Windows 8 by August, and at least 2/3 of the exams required for MCSA Windows Server 2012 by December. I plan on doing everything self study, by either reading books or watching training videos. In 2015 I want to start working on MCSEs.

For my background, I have 3+ years of helpdesk experience.

I have too many questions but here they are:

Does 7 months sound like too short of a time period to study and pass six Microsoft Exams? (70-680/685/689 then 70-410/411/412)

Would I benefit more to upgrade to MCSA Windows Server 2012 from 2008 or is 2012 only okay?

Having only an A+ and the MCSAs, would that make me a viable candidate for a System Administrator or at least a Junior System Administrator? Am I hurting myself by not obtaining the entire CompTIA trio?

Comments

• gbdavidxgbdavidx Member Posts: 840
    Definitely add ccna and Linux if you don't. You sually have to know a lot to be a systems admin
  • ajs1976ajs1976 Member Posts: 1,945 ■■■■□□□□□□
    @ Ultimas - If you are trying to get sys admin, I would skip the MCSA for Windows 7 / 8, and go to one of the server MCSAs.
    Andy

2020 Goals: 0 of 2 courses complete, 0 of 2 exams complete
  • joehalford01joehalford01 Member Posts: 364 ■■■□□□□□□□