Choice of VoIP phones for a lab

mxhdrmmxhdrm Registered Users Posts: 2 ■□□□□□□□□□
Hi all,

I'm typically very shy, so asking for advice, even on the internet, is a big thing for me. With that said, I have a question pertaining to the models of phones to get.

I'm only beginning my journey for Cisco certifications, but I'm thinking towards the future. Where I work just converted to a VoIP system, and since I work for the help desk, they decided to make me one of the administrators for the system. We have a traditional telecommunications person, that person, along with another coworker and I are all admins. Apparently I do a good job, as they've changed my title to indicate that I specialize in VoIP technologies. I got into it by chance, but find that I have an affinity for it.

That question I have is that of what model phones could I get by with? I see listed here that the 79XX phones are the ones to look for. But I'm wondering if alternates can be used? For example, we have a very limited number of 7965 phones. We have something on the order of 200 6921 phones. We also have a substantial, yet smaller amount of 6945's. We have a few 7841's as well. For my desk, I have a 9951 with an add-on module. Which is quite nice.

Work won't mind, as long as I ask, if I borrow a few phones. As long as I return them, I'm probably going to be allowed to use them for a while.

Would any of the other phone models mentioned work for me? Buying them is certainly an option, but if I can use what I have access to, why wouldn't I?

Thanks in advance for the assistance!

Comments

• RìpshotRìpshot Member Posts: 14 ■□□□□□□□□□
    Cisco 7950 is what I commonly see being most widely used. Other phones you mentioned would still apply, just would have more/less features to program them to. You have access to Cisco Call Manager correct?
  • mxhdrmmxhdrm Registered Users Posts: 2 ■□□□□□□□□□
    Hi,