Poor management of IT Security Team and Program.

jonenojoneno Member Posts: 257 ■■■■□□□□□□
I recently got a job as a security analyst in the Payment Card Industry. I work in a team of four, the work environment is fast paced and somewhat stressful. After being here for a month I can definitely say the manager has no plan where he wants to see the department in the next 2 years or so. We are due for a PCI audit and I recently realized we don't have a security awareness program for corporate and field workers.

My question is: as a young security analyst I would love to change users mindset and knowledge concerning information security without stepping on toes. What security awareness program, CBT, or tools are out there for me to use?

Any information/suggestion is helpful.

Thanks
Neno

Comments

• darkerosxxdarkerosxx Banned Posts: 1,343
    Edit: nm, you said a month

How recently were you hired? My advice... Prove yourself and your skills before developing a campaign to alter any mindsets. Build the credibility you need to do so.
  • lsud00dlsud00d Member Posts: 1,571
    This seems like a top-down scenario for change...unfortunately more often than not this takes someone getting bit or trouble to brew before people wake up and put a plan to action.

Hopefully in your case it doesn't involve an actual security breach but a poor audit scoring and/or fines would help bring the case to the forefront. I would brainstorm ideas that could help assuage issues that arise from both a high and low-level perspective. You'll be viewed as the 'idea guy!' which will make people seek your advice in the future.
  • tpatt100tpatt100 Member Posts: 2,991 ■■■■■■■■■□
    Focus on learning your job first, don't worry about making waves until you know the true nature of your work environment.
  • jonenojoneno Member Posts: 257 ■■■■□□□□□□
    darkerosxx,
    I started a month ago.
  • xnxxnx Member Posts: 464 ■■■□□□□□□□