Beginning Linux

TBickleTBickle Member Posts: 110
I come from the Cisco side of things and have been wanting to learn Linux from some time now, but have no idea where to begin. Could someone point me in the right direction? Should i just pick up the Linux+ book and begin there, or is there another path I should take?

Remember I am a complete noob when it comes to Linux so the more advice, the better. I'm not hoping to get a better job out of learning linux, i'm just hoping to expand my skillset.

Thank you!

Comments

• jvrlopezjvrlopez Member Posts: 913 ■■■■□□□□□□
    Download a distro (I started with Ubuntu) and just play in the command line. Grab a quick reference guide and just play around with the commands. Build a configuration up, break it down, and know how/why it works.
    And so you touch this limit, something happens and you suddenly can go a little bit further. With your mind power, your determination, your instinct, and the experience as well, you can fly very high. ~Ayrton Senna
  • TBickleTBickle Member Posts: 110
    thanks for the advice. I'm looking for a more structured approach. Are there any books you're reading?
  • jvrlopezjvrlopez Member Posts: 913 ■■■■□□□□□□
    No problem. Is your screen name an allusion towards Travis Bickle? +1 rep

The books I read to help get a grasp on Linux (alongside the hands on portion at home and at work):

Linux Pocket Guide, 2nd Ed
    LPI Linux Essentials Certification All In One Guide (a little remedial but still helps cover the very basics)
    Sybex Linux+

Also, if you're comfortable in the Cisco CLI, you'll pick up on the Linux command line no problem, in my opinion icon_thumright.gif
    And so you touch this limit, something happens and you suddenly can go a little bit further. With your mind power, your determination, your instinct, and the experience as well, you can fly very high. ~Ayrton Senna
  • TBickleTBickle Member Posts: 110
    Haha..,spot on with the username.