Passed This Morning - Insights and Lessons Learned

sprkymrksprkymrk Member Posts: 4,884 ■■■□□□□□□□
Hi All:

I passed this morning with a 775, took about 22 minutes on the test portion. Some of what I have heard about this test is true, and some was not (for me anyway). It is a WIDE test that covers a LOT of material. However, the only thing I found that it covers IN-DEPTH is cryptography/encryption. I studied off and on (more off than on) for about 3 months until last week when I scheduled my exam, then I crammed for about 3+ hours a day. I studied cryptography right side up and upside down but STILL had about 5 questions on the subject that I was unsure of the correct answer. I really think they hit cryptography more than the 15% they claim, but that could be because it crosses domains into General Security Concepts, email and web security, etc.

I did not find any poorly worded questions as many have claimed. Nor did I find any that realistically could have had more than one correct answer. I went fast because it seemed straight forward and I either knew it or didn't know it. I marked about 12 questions for review, but only changed 1 answer at the end.

Primary Study materials used:
    Dummies Sec+ Book (light reading, but has errors, especially on the CD) Exam Cram Sec+ Book (fair, good chapter questions) Sec+ CBT Nugget (okay for variety, but not enough meat) TechExams.net Tech Notes and Practice Tests (Printable version great for going over with highlighter while enjoying a latte at the book store)
All things are possible, only believe.

Comments

• WebmasterWebmaster Admin Posts: 10,292 Admin
  • Megadeth4168Megadeth4168 Member Posts: 2,157
    Congrats!
    Sounds like your test experience was a bit different than my own.
  • gojericho0gojericho0 Member Posts: 1,059 ■■■□□□□□□□