Starting the Juniper road

tomtom1tomtom1 Member Posts: 375
Since we have some Juniper stuff in our datacenter as part of the core and edge setup (mostly running routing-instances, eBGP for our public IP space and eBGP for the MPLS routes that the SP handles for us) and primarily because two interesting projects have come up (migration of the staticc core towards an OSPF based core and our own AS number + public peering) I felt it would be good to get some solid ground with the Juniper material.

I'm involved with 90% of all things datacenter so I have a bit of working experience with the product under my belt. Stuff like rollback has helped me in production a few times. I recently started studying for the JNCIA-JunOS and in doing so, I've found a few things to be very helpful already (show | compare, or something like show configuration | display set) and that is the main goal I've started this track.

So, I decided to drop the VCAP-DCD (VMware certification) for now and gain some ground on Juniper. Here's me hoping that since we run Juniper in production environments, the stuff that I learn will be more usable than the Cisco track I was one. When I don't have the use case to learn a particular technique or vendor, the knowledge will fade away eventually and that is the reason I'm having trouble picking up the CCNP track, most of our datacenter stuff is Juniper based.

I'll be doing JNCIA first but I hope to reach at least JNCIP-ENT since the stuff we do should be in line with content discussed in those exams. Perhaps even JNCIE someday..

For now, it's back to basics for me but I'll use this thread as a log for my progress.

Comments

• tomtom1tomtom1 Member Posts: 375