Killed the Security+ exam!

MorvMorv Member Posts: 7 ■□□□□□□□□□
To prepare, I took a 40 hour CompTIA course at a computer school, and since then I've been studying on and off for about 6 months, I used mostly the ITIL Security+ book, it covered everything that I saw on the exam. I also used Professor messer's training videos (saw each of them at least 3 times!), I browsed Darryl's book for a different viewpoint on different concepts, I took a few practice tests from transcenders.com (not the best resource), and I watched the CBT nuggets on the SY0-401 exam (Keith Barker).

I was considering taking the SY0-401, but thanks to members of this forum, I realized that it would only really be for bragging rights because like your score, it doesn't show up anywhere which version of the test you took. I already had the materials and put in the time to study the SY0-301, so I ended up taking that and swallowing my pride.

I'm not the best test taker, so I flipped through the entire ITIL book cover to cover the night before and took notes so I ended up getting 5 hours of sleep. (I've got kids so that's about average anyways lol). After all this, I was still nervous walking into the testing center, I even used the restroom twice!

Come to the end of it and got an 869/900!

Comments

• dave1227dave1227 Member Posts: 21 ■□□□□□□□□□
    Congrats!! Got 852 today myself!! I was pretty nervous too at the start and even halfway through I wasn't sure how I was doing. Had about 20 minutes or so to go back through everything and at that point I was sure I was going to pass. I was hoping for 800 so I was thrilled at my score. The class I took was for the 301 test so that's the one I went with too.
  • MorvMorv Member Posts: 7 ■□□□□□□□□□