Dreaming of CCIE-DC

slinuxuzerslinuxuzer Member Posts: 665 ■■■■□□□□□□
So I have five classes left at WGU, I've been thinking about CCIE for ten years, but finally have some real finances where I could make a run at it. I want to hear some opinions from the folks here on my prospects. I am a system architect for a large manufacturing company. I have deployed tons of VMware on HP servers, Cisco Nexus 5/2k's, one large deployment I did 1000v, lots of Netapp storage experience with NFS, a decent amount of brocade FC, no UCS unfortunatley, no 7k. I want to stay in the virtualization / data center game, thats why I am thinking DC.

I am single, 30, and could invest the time and money. I have in my work lab, two nexus 5548UP no L3 card, 2 nexus 2k's, C7000 blade chassis with flex-fabric and 10Gb eth pass throughs. I could get two MDS9216i fibre switches, I may at some point be able to add a UCS chassis, 7k's in work lab not likely to ever happen.

I have CCNA cert that is about two years old at this point, I don't work in networking full time, but I put a lot of time into CCNA.

I am interested in hearing the opinion of everyone here on how best to proceed, my goal is to gain CCIE, I expect this will open enough doors for me to work on more challenging projects and possibly gain better employment.

I have a concern about rack time availability and because of this I am wondering if I should go down CCIE security track simply due to more rack time being available.

Thanks in advance.

Comments

• Roy4USARoy4USA Member Posts: 22 ■□□□□□□□□□
    "I want to stay in the virtualization / data center game, thats why I am thinking DC." That should be the reason to go after the DC instead of Security Track. Plus the experience and current lab that you listed will benefit you in the DC Studies.
  • RouteMyPacketRouteMyPacket Member Posts: 1,104