SVI access from another subnet

dimeifieddimeified Member Posts: 13 ■□□□□□□□□□
Hi guys,
I am currently studying for CCNA, and have been reading about the virtual vlan interfaces on the switch that are used to connect remotely to administer the switch. By default, the virtual vlan interface is set up on vlan 1, and from what I read, only 1 virtual interface can be up at a time for remote administration, and that assumes at least 1 device is connected to that vlan, otherwise the virtual interface would be down.

So I wonder, if only 1 virtual interface can be up at a time, does that mean that to administer a switch from a vlan of which the virtual interface is not assigned, my connection traffic would have to be routed from the vlan I am in, to the vlan that has the virtual interface thats up? If so, then why would a virtual interface need to be assigned to any other vlan other than the default vlan1? Perhaps if routing fails (router on a stick)?

So then what if I have a virtual interface set up for vlan2, then the virtual interface on vlan1 goes down as it should, right? Then lets say I physically unplug all devices from the second vlan, that means the switch turns off the virtual interface for vlan 2? Then am I locked out remotely? Or does the vlan1 virtual interface automatically come back up and then I would have to guess to try to connect vlan1's virtual interface?

Forgive my ignorance, I've yet only watched CBT vids, and I'm only in chapter 7 of Wendell Odom's ICND1 book, but I couldn't help but to think ahead and wonder how this works before I start to approach the topic in depth.

Comments

• Dieg0MDieg0M Member Posts: 861
    1 SVI per switch on a L2 switch. On a multilayer switch you can have several SVI's up at the same time.
    Follow my CCDE journey at www.routingnull0.com
  • esr0159esr0159 Member Posts: 80 ■□□□□□□□□□
    You need to assign it to a different vlan for security reasons.