Study Material for CompTIA Security+

Biza21Biza21 Registered Users Posts: 2 ■□□□□□□□□□
Hello all

This is my first posting and looking for some advice.

I would like to know what is the best study material for Comptia Security+ certification, I have very little background in the IT field.
A new job is requiring the Security + certification and I want to start on working on obtaining the certification.

Thanks,

Biza

Comments

• Rocket ImpossibleRocket Impossible Member Posts: 104
    Most here would probably recommend Darril Gibson's CompTIA Security+ Get Certified, Get ahead, as well as a subscription to the premium content on his website. It certainly helped me. I also used the MeasureUp practice tests, and supplemented that with some Professor Messer videos. I like to use multiple sources just to make sure I have all my bases covered. How much you will need will depend on how much IT and security experience you have.
  • Cisco InfernoCisco Inferno Member Posts: 1,034 ■■■■■■□□□□
    Hi there and welcome. The absolute best material you can use is Darril Gibson's book. Here is a link. It is the most recommended book in the industry in my opinion. Such an easy read with great analogies that let you see the bigger picture of why security is implemented in every part of a network. It is a good eye opener.

Secondly, you will want to view and watch Professor Messer's Free Sec+ videos on his site. They are broken up in convenient, easy to digest 10-15 minute long clips. He is recommended all the time as a supplement to any CompTIA training course. When you start a chapter in Darril's book, read the covered topics on the chapter page, it will let you know which videos of Messer's to watch.

Another helpful tip is to then watch the videos FIRST. This way you have an idea of what you will be reading, allowing you to read much much easier than if you were to read first.

Here are the links to both.
    CompTIA Security+: Get Certified Get Ahead: SY0-301 Study Guide