Few questions about RHCSA6

tycoonbobtycoonbob Member Posts: 81 ■■□□□□□□□□
Hi everyone.

I've been using CentOS/RHEL for about 6 months now, and am planning to start studying for my RHCSA. I want to take it on v6 and not 7. Even though 7 is out now, I figure it will be another 6-12 months before companies really start adopting RHEL7, and I don't expect people will start upgrading their RHEL6 installs just yet. At least, this is the case in the Microsoft world.

So yeah, I can still take my RHCSA on v6, right? Also, where would I take RHEL exams at? I don't see Redhat listed on Prometric or Pearson Vue, so I'm guessing it's not either one of those facilities. Looking on Redhat's website, I only say a list of about 20 testing facilities, or whatever. Is that the only list of where I can go??

Comments

• gkcagkca Member Posts: 243 ■■■□□□□□□□
    Hi tycoonbob,

I believe you can take an EX200 on RHEL6 till 19 December 2014 and only at the individual testing stations or maybe at some training centers - as they said in Q&A "availability varies by location"...
    "I needed a password with eight characters so I picked Snow White and the Seven Dwarves." (c) Nick Helm
  • tycoonbobtycoonbob Member Posts: 81 ■■□□□□□□□□
    gkca wrote: »
    Hi tycoonbob,

I believe you can take an EX200 on RHEL6 till 19 December 2014 and only at the individual testing stations or maybe at some training centers - as they said in Q&A "availability varies by location"...

Very disappointing, and pretty much means RHCSA6 is out of my reach, unless I want to drive 300 miles to test. I have no problem taking the RHCSA7, however there is no real training content out there unless I pay for a Redhat class, which also isn't an option. I figure it will be what, 9-12 months before we see something like Jang's book for RHCSA7?

Is it worth getting Jang's boot now, which is based on RHEL6?