Network +

3online3online Member Posts: 19 ■■■□□□□□□□
Hey everyone! I've been studying for the Network+ exam. I have ten years experience as a Network Administrator, but then became a public school teacher. I am getting back into the IT field as soon as I can.

I have ITIL Foundation, A+, MCTS, and hopefully Network+ soon.

I've been using Exam Cram along with other resources. Uh..that OSI model is a tough one!

Any advice?

Thanks!

Comments

• DonM34DonM34 Member Posts: 139
    OSI IMO was a very trick topic, just know the basics and you should be fine. Here's what I did, create a table with all 7 layers. As your studying if it mentions a certain protocol etc write next to it the corresponding layer. By the end of your studies you should have a great understand of the layers. BTW, the exam has a hand full of OSI questions.
    2014 Goal [ ] CCENT [ ] MCTS (Active Directory) [ ] CompTIA Security+
  • 3online3online Member Posts: 19 ■■■□□□□□□□
    Thank you. Are there any discounts out there for the exam? $269 is a bit much, don't you think?
    The testing center where I took the exam applied the discount automatically. I paid 250.00 for the Network+ exam, still a little pricey compared to Microsoft.
  • DrethylDrethyl Member Posts: 121 ■■□□□□□□□□
    Does anyone know off hand how many questions are on the N10-005 exam? The comptia site says up to 100 questions but is it different for everyone?
  • ImYourOnlyDJImYourOnlyDJ Member Posts: 180
    The OSI model can be confusing sometimes. Like the above poster I made a table (well actually used the pen and paper method) and drew blocks for the layers. Within the layers I briefly described the layer. Then on one side I wrote the protocols used at each layer (IP used at the network layer etc) and on the other side I wrote the protocol data units for each layer (network layer has packets, data link used frames etc).
    [@Drethyl

When I took the exam, fewer than 100 questions. Including performance based questions.