CISA Study Materials

JonnygJonnyg Member Posts: 84 ■■■□□□□□□□
I am considering taking the CISA exam. I plan on using the All-in-One guide. Based on your experience with the CISA exam, would a thorough and complete understanding of the AIO be enough to pass the CISA or should I shell out the extra money for the ISACA 2014 review manual and question database? I do not need the questions simply in order to understand how to do these kinds of tests, as I am familiar. However, if there are other additional benefits from these questions, such as material that isn't covered in these two books, then I would consider purchasing the database.

For reference, I have about five years of experience in information security and already have auditing experience. I have not yet made the commitment to attempt this exam, but, may do so depending on the feedback received here. All thoughts are welcome.
Working on: Nothing, finally.

Comments

• zxbanezxbane Member Posts: 740 ■■■■□□□□□□
    Jonnyg,

I haven't attempted the CISA yet (plan to in December) but I just passed the CISM in June and from my reading in the ISACA sub-forum the most recommended study materials for all their exams is the official review manual and practice questions DB. From my experience the practice questions provided much more value than the review manual. The review manual was extremely dry and I only read through it once, where with the practice questions I was able to connect terms and concepts with answers and utilize the answer descriptions provided to back the answers with the logic.

Just my opinion though, I am sure others will weigh in. Best of luck to you if you attempt to test. I will be going for it in December myself.
  • JonnygJonnyg Member Posts: 84 ■■■□□□□□□□