Need an advice on buying an access point for a small company

sattarsattar Member Posts: 48 ■■□□□□□□□□
Hey guys,

I need an advice on buying an access point for a small company with 20-25 computers. I need to buy an access point that could support vlan (it is my first time doing this). I have two question:

1-Is this access point enough for this network?

2-Can someone explain to me what this means, on the specifications it says:
it says 1 management vlan and 8 vlan per ssid, I don't get this part. For instance if I create 5 vlan on my switch can I map them to the access point or not? How many vlans can I create with this access point? 1 or 8?

Comments

• PurpleITPurpleIT Member Posts: 327
    sattar wrote: »
    Hey guys,

I need an advice on buying an access point for a small company with 20-25 computers. I need to buy an access point that could support vlan (it is my first time doing this). I have two question:

Probably. Will they be connecting their phones/tablets too? What's the physical layout? Will one AP give you sufficient coverage?

I typically figure 20-25 users per AP, but it depends on the users, the bandwidth and a few other variables.

[edit] - That page says, "Recommended user support - Up to 32 connective users, 20 active users" so depending on the users' habits you are right up there.

2-Can someone explain to me what this means, on the specifications it says:
    it says 1 management vlan and 8 vlan per ssid, I don't get this part. For instance if I create 5 vlan on my switch can I map them to the access point or not? How many vlans can I create with this access point? 1 or 8?

It actually says "8 VLAN for SSID" which means you can map your 5 VLANs on your switch. It also has one management VLAN.

Depending on your situation, you might also want to look at the Meraki line - http://meraki.cisco.com/ - it is a cloud based managed AP that does some pretty neat stuff.
    WGU - BS IT: ND&M | Start Date: 12/1/12, End Date 5/7/2013