Am I doing the right thing going for the A+?

Micky73Micky73 Member Posts: 18 ■□□□□□□□□□
I'm a newbie making a career change. No formal work experience in IT. Everyone says to take the A+ because that's the entry-level cert.

So I start studying and I'm totally overwhelmed. Mostly by the rote memorization stuff and the amount of material to cover. (I know there are only 90 questions on each test but I feel like I never know what will pop up, and yes, I have the exam objectives and am using them as a reference).

My original plan was to pass the A+, then get volunteer work to pad my resume, then hopefully get a job. I've got people telling me this is a good plan, and I also have people telling me it's really competitive out there and not to waste my money on the cert and the class I'm planning on taking to help me with the cert.

I want to take a class so I can get my hands dirty and be in a lab. If I'm going to do this, I want to make sure I really know my stuff. Found one at the community college for $400.

I'm currently using Exam Cram, Prof Messer videos, and Prof Messer's study guide to study.

Should I keep at this? Should I take the class and keep pushing for the cert? Am I on the right path or is there a better way in for me?

(Oh, also, I can't go back to school to get a degree--already have a BA and MA in a different field and still paying off my MA)

If my location helps, I'm in L.A.

Oh yeah, I've talked to many people who keep telling me the future is in the cloud and to focus on that instead of the A+.

Yep, head spinning.

Thanks in advance for your advice.

Comments

• 10Linefigure10Linefigure Member Posts: 368 ■■■□□□□□□□
    You may not need to spend the money or deal with the time constraints that come with a formal class for A+. I used the Sybex A+ book, it came with a helpful CD. There are also test questions and the TE forums are full of help. The future may be in the cloud or anywhere else, but its good foundational knowledge for anyone to have.