Taking A+ Core Hardware in 2 days, am I prepared?

kujayhawk93kujayhawk93 Member Posts: 355
I'm taking the Core test this Friday and would like some opinions concerning my preparation. I have been a computer technician for over 7 years now and thought I could breeze through the A+ certification, but was surprised to find out how much I didn't know when I started looking at the objectives. I have been using Sybex's A+ Fast Pass, QUE's Exam Cram 2, and several websites with test questions. I just found this site today and am looking forward to taking the sample tests tonight. For those of you who have passed the test already, what do you think, am I adequately prepared, given my experience and studying techniques? Thanks in advance!

Comments

• booboo2booboo2 Member Posts: 7 ■□□□□□□□□□
    Sounds like you're ready. Just took both A+ certs last month and the only thing that caught me off guard were some questions about customer service which are common sense and you can't get that from any book or notes (there were literally 20 on each exam). On multiple choice it's pretty easy to eliminate 2 answers immediately so out of the last 2 you know aren't wrong go with your gut. Since you've been a tech for 7 years the legacy stuff should not be a problem. Good luck
  • kujayhawk93kujayhawk93 Member Posts: 355
    Thanks, booboo. Actually, the legacy stuff is what's worrying me the most! I've never bothered to memorize things like IRQs and memory addresses, because Windows manages that stuff so much better now. Thanks for the well wishes, I hope to be posting back Friday night with the word "PASSED" in my subject line!
  • PlantwizPlantwiz Mod Posts: 5,057 Mod
    Thanks, booboo. Actually, the legacy stuff is what's worrying me the most! I've never bothered to memorize things like IRQs and memory addresses, because Windows manages that stuff so much better now. Thanks for the well wishes, I hope to be posting back Friday night with the word "PASSED" in my subject line!