JNCISEC (JNO332) or bust. (Does anyone have study notes?)

evarneyevarney Member Posts: 68 ■■■□□□□□□□
So after passing the CCNA security exam (which I honestly had trouble with because of that blasted CCP bullshit), I have the technology and concepts in my head fresh so may as well hit this one too.

I ordered a Juniper SRX210 on ebay. I am trying to figure out if I need to buy another or if I can just use a different firewall for the other end.

I have access to the new CBTnuggets course that is being made right now and I am ready to rock out. I also have access to the SRX Manual and Junos Security guide.

The question is, what else do I need. I only have two ex2200 switches at work and a SSG but the home lab can't be mixed with that equipment.

Does anyone have study notes?
What other books do you recommend. I have access to pretty much every IT book ever.

I will own this exam and eat its babies.

Comments

• pevangelpevangel Member Posts: 342
    I'm studying for this exam as well. I actually just finished JSEC today and will be doing JUTM tomorrow. The fast track PDFs are pretty good. There's also the O'Reilly SRX book.

You can't do clustering with just one SRX, and unless you have the proper licenses, I don't think you'll be able to do IDP and UTM.

Another good resource is Junos Genius. It's an app for Androids and iPhones that has practice questions for JNCIA, JNCIS-SEC, and JNCIS-ENT.

Good luck!
  • evarneyevarney Member Posts: 68 ■■■□□□□□□□
    Yeah I have that ap on my phone. I am currently trying to get my hands on a old SSG at work that isn't in use so I have that and I have a pair of EX2200's in the office. My shop is Cisco but they spoke of going to juniper and I am the only one that has any experience besides the senior network engineer and he hasn't touched JUNOS in a while so I am pretty much on my own as far as technical guidance.

Do you have to cluster for the exam? can I mix a SRX110 with a SRX210? Is the bare miminmum 2 SRX appliances?