Linux+ for helpdesk/desktop support Linux job?

Kai123Kai123 Member Posts: 364 ■■■□□□□□□□
Hello,

I am studying for the Linux+, got all my material ready and cracking on. My main drive for this cert is to help me get a NOC position later down the line when I get my CCNA.

I have been at odds with myself for studying towards the Linux+, or MCSA in Windows 7 and get a better job faster, while waiting for my course for the CCNA to finish.

Then it hit me, would it be possible to get a Linux support role with this cert? I always assumed Linux administration would be on a sys admin level, not a desktop support role, but companies and businesses that run in a Linux environment, they would have have Linux based helpdesk positions?

Comments

• JeanMJeanM Member Posts: 1,117
    They are out there, but usually it's more on sysadmin side.. I've seen helpdesk position that "require" linux skills because it helps, but usually helpdesk is all windows/mac os x for the most part.
    2015 goals - ccna voice / vmware vcp.
  • PrefluxPreflux Member Posts: 15 ■□□□□□□□□□
    Hopefully I can help you a bit as I was in a very similar situation.

Unfortunately, Linux support jobs are very hard to find as most companies that use Linux will be using it for a backend so supporting that would mean a sysadmin position. The easiest way to get a linux role would be to move up through support (Hammer out certs and do this quickly) and then work in a Linux environment.

I got lucky myself by landing a Product Support Engineer role which is heavily linux based so I do a lot of troubleshooting on linux backends. These jobs DO exist, albeit very rare.

I only have 4 months experience working in IT but it's been a passion of mine for years.

Good luck
  • Kai123Kai123 Member Posts: 364 ■■■□□□□□□□
    I suspected much, thanks for the replies guys!