lol - nested setups can go a long way

jibbajabbajibbajabba Member Posts: 4,317 ■■■■■■■■□□
Only just noticed that I actually managed to get the thing to 100% (sort of) haha

34zbkso.png

So yea -nested all the way - and it goes a long way ..

One physical host but running a 5.0 Cluster, 6.0 Cluster and 5.1 vCloud Director Infrastructure ...
My own knowledge base made public: http://open902.com :p

Comments

• chopstickschopsticks Member Posts: 389
    Sorry I'm still a noob at this, may I find out what is nested setups?
  • nosoup4unosoup4u Member Posts: 365
    I cringe at the thought of the i/o on this thing! :)

Pickup a cheap 2 socket L5520 or X5650 setup, love my 24 core lab!
  • jibbajabbajibbajabba Member Posts: 4,317 ■■■■■■■■□□
    A vSphere cluster usually contains multiple physical hosts (2 or more) and requires all the necessary management parts. Such as vCenter, Domain Controller and so on.

However in lab environments this can get very expensive. Not many people have the room, money and electricity bill to have multiple physical hosts + capacity for all the management stuff.

Nested setups using only one physical server or PC and run the hypervisor, here ESXi, as virtual machine.

So you could for example run VMware Workstation on your PC at home and run vSphere as VM and build yourself a cluster without the expensive bits.

Well, kinda, you still need a lot of Ram and really SSD drives to make it fast enough to be less frustrating :)

This is not suitable for production environments but certain is well suited for lab environments to study.
    chopsticks wrote: »
    Sorry I'm still a noob at this, may I find out what is nested setups?

Not bad at all. It has a 1TB SSDH (Hybrid) and 480GB SSD. Its flying actually. I even hit 'suspend' on all vApps now and it took only moments.

Kinda flies actually. lol what you don't see here is that the vCloud setup even has multiple VMs running but it has its own vcenter so it won't be visible here.