Options

Setting up a virtualized home lab?

RedGaiterRedGaiter Member Posts: 83 ■■□□□□□□□□
Hi guys, I know I post here often, I have some questions and you're all the best!

What would be the best way to set up a virtualized home lab for server 2012? Should I install 2012 on a physical machine, and run all the VMs through it, or should I just set up multiple VMs through my Windows 8.1 OS?

Also, this is a complete noob question, but how many instances of 2012 should I be running to set up a complete lab, and should I be running any Windows 7/8 VMs as clients to simulate user groups and whatnot?

Comments

• Options
    kriscamaro68kriscamaro68 Member Posts: 1,186 ■■■■■■■□□□
    I would say it depends on your hardware. Do you have a machine you can dedicate to installing Server 2012 or would you have to install it on your desktop. If you only have 1 desktop and don't have another machine to dedicate to labbing then I would use 8.1 and run Hyper-V. If you have a machine that you can dedicate to labbing only then I would put 2012 on it and go from there. You will probably want atleast 2 vm's for DC's/dns/dhcp and then maybe another 2 or so for whatever else you want to test or setup. You will want a couple clients setup so you can test different GPO's/users/permissions and various things like that.
  • Options
    I would say it depends on your hardware. Do you have a machine you can dedicate to installing Server 2012 or would you have to install it on your desktop. If you only have 1 desktop and don't have another machine to dedicate to labbing then I would use 8.1 and run Hyper-V. If you have a machine that you can dedicate to labbing only then I would put 2012 on it and go from there. You will probably want atleast 2 vm's for DC's/dns/dhcp and then maybe another 2 or so for whatever else you want to test or setup. You will want a couple clients setup so you can test different GPO's/users/permissions and various things like that.