70-685 fail, need advice

Brandonm2Brandonm2 Member Posts: 22 ■□□□□□□□□□
Hey everyone!
Well I took my 70-685 the other day and went in pretty confident of passing. As soon as I started taking the test I realized it was going to be harder than I originally thought. I got a 614 on the test. Needed 700.

I studied for the 680 since september last year and passed that at the end of march. Since then I have been working on the 685. I have no real world expireince but have set up my own 2008r2 server and clients and have labbed in that. I've spent a some time in group policy. I read both of the microsoft press books. And took the 200 question practice test on the self paced training book cd. Got about 70% the first time. Then went and learned why I got the answers wrong I did. I thought the test on the cd alot easier than the actual test.
So overall I feel I need to work on
1 how to answer case studys
2 group policy configuration.
Does anyone have any advice for me?

I kinda feel like microsoft is VERY specific with the questions they asked. I was thinking I would get more of the basic level questions but I left thinking "wow... They were not kidding when they said enterprise desktop support tech" (With all the different scenarios that were presented that were very much so enterprise related.)
Will real world experience help much? Or are the questions microsoft asking just too specific?
So again any advice in what to study would be much appreciated.

Thanks guys!

Comments

• PsychoData91PsychoData91 Member Posts: 138 ■■■□□□□□□□
    I'm gonna be honest. I haven't taken any Microsoft exams ( yet :) I plan to start those late winter) BUT I have heard that MS is notorious for having tricky questions where everything hinges on a single fact.

Especially with MS exams I always hear that it's important to take all the time you can and read the ENTIRE questions Thoroughly. You should do that on all questions and exams anyways, but MS especially.