Passed 98-349 and 98-366

TediousOneTediousOne Member Posts: 8 ■□□□□□□□□□
Hi!

Kinda new to the forum, wanted to share what certs I earned and how I studied. (It might be helpful)

These were taken 3 weeks apart.
92%, 98-349 MTA OS Fundamentals
85%, 98-366 MTA Network Fundamentals

98-349
Study time: 4 days
Time spent on test: 40-45 minutes, I tend to let the time run out while I review and think.

Read the book "Windows Operating System Fundamentals: MTA 98-349" ISBN-13 978-1118295274
I skimmed through it honestly, looking at terms and technologies I didn't know or haven't used much. Would not recommend skimming through it. I would suggest installing Windows 7 clean and upgrading and using the basic tools MS provides with it. Snipping tool, Windows Media Center, etc. Microsoft has pages dedicated to these tools and several others which give a short but good read on what they are and what they do.
Background: I've worked in an IT department for 4 years and currently work at an IT consulting business, for the last 3 years I've been using and administrating Windows 7.

98-366
Study time: 3 days
Time spent on test: Same as above.

Watched several CBT Nuggets training videos covering exam objectives and read few Wikipedia articles.
I went into the exam a bit presumptuous, thought it was going to be a bit easy, until I got to the second question.