SSIS questions

N2ITN2IT Inactive Imported Users Posts: 7,483 ■■■■■■■■■■
Just a couple of high level questions if you don't mind.
  • I am moving into another company and they would like me to ramp up on SSIS. They have a ad hoc process in place right now and they want to move into some automation. I have a high level understanding of SSIS. In your opinion what approach would you take to understanding this? I removed my Express version and installed the 180 day trial of the enterprise with reporting, analytics and integration services.
  • I am currently going through a training course provided by Lynda.com. It's free since I graduated from WGU, I still have access to their library etc so I am going through this course.
Any other recommendations? I start my new gig on the 25th and would like to get a strong understanding in place prior to start. I told them I had very little to no skills with SSIS. However it sounds like someone needs to take this component on and it might as well be me.

Thanks for any replies in advance.

Comments

• NotHackingYouNotHackingYou Member Posts: 1,460 ■■■■■■■■□□
    I would take a look at some videos on PluralSight. I've created a few SSIS packages and they aren't too bad. Sounds like you are on the right track with the free trial. Do you have AdeventureWorks2012? I think they also have a DW version you could practice on, too.
    When you go the extra mile, there's no traffic.
  • N2ITN2IT Inactive Imported Users Posts: 7,483 ■■■■■■■■■■
    Carl thanks for the reply. Yes I loaded the DW version of AW Data warehouse. So far so good. Just curious when you installed the database did you burn from ISO or just install the CAB files or use Azure?
  • NotHackingYouNotHackingYou Member Posts: 1,460 ■■■■■■■■□□