Advice on managing computer hardware storage/configuring room

Currently I am an intern for a big local dotcom, and I work with the internal IT support department. Other than doing the usual internal help desk support and networking/system admin work, we also have a room where we put all our hardware and PCs with test environment in, and I believe every IT pro who is on Spiceworks has one of those rooms in their company.
Now here is the fun part, every IT company I have ever been to, this particular room is always unorganized, currently it is loaded with all kinds of PCs, laptops and their cables, we use shipping boxes to store extra parts that we don't know if we are going to use or not in the near future, and part of my job is to take anything that we will donate or recycle to our overflow space on another floor in the building. Last week my manager said he is finally feed up with the unorganized nature of this room, and tasked me to do some research and suggestions on how to fix this problem. He want me to find a hardware management/storage solution that can make the room look more organized, where everyone in the department knows where everything is, and they won't just throwing junks on the desk/table and let it laying around there. This room currently have all our cables, loaner laptops, recently returned PCs, test networking/sever hardware, a couple of big tables where we **** all our hardware junks on, add to that a fridge we use for lunch.....I mean you IT pros get the picture, in fact, I am going to attach 2 pictures below to show you how messy this room is that I am talking about.