spreading yourself to thin in terms of certs

Hi,

I am torn between weather to go down Cisco route or the Microsoft route. In the end I am currently studying both. However my eyes seem bigger than my mind (if that’s even a term) in that I have now started watching some exchange cbts..On top of all this I have a degree (long term) in the works. Do you think it’s needed to have to know both Microsoft and Cisco stuff or just specialize in one? Does anyone else feel any pressure to take on more than they can chew at one time?

Comments

• canismaxcanismax Member Posts: 5 ■□□□□□□□□□
    You can do both tracks just fine, but I do recommend you do one after the other rather than at the same time. If the topics were closely related then it wouldn't be too much of a problem, but since they're seperate (some overlap but not enough) its going to be hard to make associations when your studying both.
  • rockstar81rockstar81 Member Posts: 151
    are there many professionals out there who stick to either microsoft certs or only cisco certs? if you where a cisco man would you ever be frowned on for not knowing microsoft stuff?
  • blargoeblargoe Member Posts: 4,174 ■■■■■■■■■□
    It would depend on what kind of job you were applying for.

Which do you LIKE more? If you enjoy working with Windows, fixing computers, if supporting user access to resources on the network, etc appeals to you then go Microsoft. If you want the guy who is responsible for making sure everything can communicate, do Cisco. If you want to be both, start with some microsoft first, (maybe MCSA), then study networking.
    IT guy since 12/00

Recent: 11/2019 - RHCSA (RHEL 7); 2/2019 - Updated VCP to 6.5 (just a few days before VMware discontinued the re-cert policy...)
    Working on: RHCE/Ansible
    Future: Probably continued Red Hat Immersion, Possibly VCAP Design, or maybe a completely different path. Depends on job demands...
  • plettnerplettner Member Posts: 197
    rockstar81 wrote: