Seeking Guidance CISSP - 2014

rocky_johnrocky_john Registered Users Posts: 2 ■□□□□□□□□□
Hi Guys,

I am John and I have nearly seven years experience in IT Security. I have been looking at this exam as a task that is very difficult and not achievable. Few days ago I just made a decision and set my goal to attempt CISSP. I also booked my exam(4 months from now).

I am aiming to clear CISSP exam in my first attempt.

Request some experienced folks to guide me through my below plan:

PLAN:
> Going through One domain at a time
> Going through nuggets CISSP nuggets Shawn Harris 2007
> Roughly going through CCCure questions
> Reading (All in One CISSP Exam Guide 6th Edition Shawn Harris)
> Reading (Eric Conrad - CISSP Study guide)
> Reading (The CISSP Preparation Guide - 2nd Edition - Ronald Krutz)
> Going through the blueprint if any topics missed(reading online if any missed topics)
> Again going through CCCure questions

Additionally,

I would also need some tip on how to tackle/distinguish between similar looking answer for the same question.

Also I would need the best resource to find current occurring attacks/trend in Security so that my current affairs is up to the mark.

Thank you.

Comments

• BGravesBGraves Member Posts: 339
    Hey, welcome and best of luck on your studies!

I don't have much to say about your plan, it seems solid enough. If I was going to be picky, I'd say leave your practice questions for closer towards the end after you've gone through most of the reading, so they can highlight areas you may need to go back and review. Flashcards helped me quite a bit, I think I had a couple hundred by the time I was done. Also, use the CCCure questions to mimic a real 250 question exam. Do that a few times before the actual exam and it will help you mentally to not be exhausted (by the amount of questions/time it takes )on the real exam. Give your brain a break for a day or two before the exam too, light review no cramming.