Need advice on entry level certification

PudaPuda Member Posts: 12 ■□□□□□□□□□
Hi guys,

I would like to start a new certification in IT but I am not sure which one would be best for me. My background is in digital marketing, I have a very good knowledge of Windows but I would like to learn more things, especially within the PC Technology (how to troubleshoot problems, repair the computer, installing hardware...). I have heard about CompTIA A+ and Microsoft MTA. I wonder if that would be good for me.

Any advices? Being in Digital Marketing, I am in no rush. It's mostly for myself.

Also, if you can recommend websites for training. I used uCertify in the past for my Business Associate certification from CIW and was not impressed!

Comments

• BryzeyBryzey Member Posts: 260
    A+ is a pretty good starting point why you figure out what route you want to take. Also covers the things you mention wanting to learn.

In regards to training:

-Cbt nuggets $99 monthly
    -Pluralsight $30 monthly
    -Professor messer has free a+ video training.

So use professor messer plus a paid cbt provider and one or 2 books and you can't go wrong. Just do a trial to find out which cbt provider you prefer.
  • Params7Params7 Member Posts: 254
    Many vets don't like A+ too much, but I do feel the material it covers is pretty important for a beginner in IT who wants to get a general idea of how computers and networks today run and how to to support them. If not for the $ potential for the cert, but for the knowledge instilled while trying to achieve it.

After A+ it is generally recommended to find a specialization you like within IT while getting some experience if you can find your way into IT support. Then study for and achieve certs within that field (be it MCSA/Linux for servers, or ccna for networks, etc).
  • PudaPuda Member Posts: 12 ■□□□□□□□□□
    Thanks guys!