CCIE without much on the job experience

tomtom1tomtom1 Member Posts: 375
Hi Guys,

Recently I accepted a position as a sr. system engineer with a MSP. In this job, I will get exposure to Linux and a bit Nexus / Netapp (they're running UCS) and some ASA firewalling. However, CCIE R:S has always been a dream of mine and with my CCNP almost rounded up (only TSHOOT left) I was thinking about pursuing the CCIE as a preparation for a next job, which will most likely be more networking centered. I'm currently very broad, as I have some (3-4 years) experience with the network side (intermediate routing / switching on Cisco and Juniper), but also stuff like Windows / Linux, Loadbalancers, (NetScaler / F5 etc) however I'd like to be a bit more networking centered.

I'm hoping achieving a CCIE would get me at least 1 foot through the door, and that the experience I'm building up can at least get me a step further in the networking world. Would something like this make sense, since CCIE is best coupled with many years experience?

I will make sure the CCNP is finished since that is only one exam left, but I'm standing on the start of a mountain (CCIE) and before I start the climb, I'd like some advice from you pro's :)

Comments

• pevangelpevangel Member Posts: 342
    Why not? I have less experience than you in networking, and I've started studying for CCIE. IMO, the knowledge you gain through the journey of studying for the CCIE is worth more than the certification. Having the numbers is a nice bonus, but it's worth nothing if you can't talk at that level during interviews. As long as you study to understand and not just study to pass (no ****), then you should just do it. I got my CCNP with only 3 months of networking experience and it has opened up a lot of opportunities for me.
  • Dieg0MDieg0M Member Posts: 861