Possible to do self study for CISSP?

vichimaruvichimaru Registered Users Posts: 2 ■□□□□□□□□□
Hi guys,

Just checking if it is possible to self study for CISSP.. Have been interested in this for quite some time and contemplating if i should go for it..

thanks

Comments

• aftereffectoraftereffector Member Posts: 525 ■■■■□□□□□□
    It certainly is. I did, and in fact most of the CISSPs I know studied on their own (only a handful had classes or bootcamps).
    CCIE Security - this one might take a while...
  • WilliamK99WilliamK99 Member Posts: 278
    Achievable, yes but it will take self-discipline and focused studying. This is not a test where you can study off and on for a couple weeks and be prepared. I studying for 6 months, using multiple sources, and really deep dived into the material... You need dedication to pass the CISSP. To put it another way , my life when I studied for the CISSP

Eat
    Work
    Study
    Sleep
    Repeat
  • jvrlopezjvrlopez Member Posts: 913 ■■■■□□□□□□
    It's possible but takes a lot of concentration and self discipline.

I did a month of self study everyday for at least 3 hours before my test and did fine. Never been a big fan of bootcamps.
    And so you touch this limit, something happens and you suddenly can go a little bit further. With your mind power, your determination, your instinct, and the experience as well, you can fly very high. ~Ayrton Senna
  • cyberguyprcyberguypr Mod Posts: 6,928 Mod
    I think most of us here have done self study. Two questions: what is your background and what is your motivation to go after the CISSP?
  • imthatguyimthatguy Member Posts: 37 ■■□□□□□□□□