Passed MTA 98-366 today (Networking Fundamentals)

si20si20 Member Posts: 543 ■■■■■□□□□□
I've got 5 years of working IT experience (not in networking though) and me and my friend both have a degree (hers is a 2:2 and mine is a First class). We set ourselves a target: 30 days to learn and pass the MTA Networking Fundamentals course. We learned from the following book: "98-366: MTA Networking Fundamentals (Microsoft Official Academic Course)".

The only difference is, I work 37 hours a week - and my friend is looking for work. I ended up passing with 74 and they got 76 (passing score is 70).

So - my thoughts and advice for anyone taking this cert. Study, study and study some more. I feel like this course gets dismissed because it's thought of as being an "entry cert" when in fact, there's a bucket load of information to learn, especially if you've not done networking before. I suggest spending several weeks (if you work full time) learning this course, spending around 2-3 hours a day on it.

I told my friend that I had questions about "T1, 2 and 3 and wireless frequencies" whilst my friend had no T1,2,3 questions and got "easier" questions. This is a bit gutting for a perfectionist like me - It's a shame we aren't all taking the same exact course, because I felt that topics such as T1-3 weren't covered in that much detail in the book, so answering questions on it wasn't easy.

I can't complain because I passed, but I guess i'm just not happy with getting just 74 considering my experience. It gives me a good idea of where to improve though icon_cool.gif

Comments

• cyberguyprcyberguypr Mod Posts: 6,928 Mod
    Congrats on the pass.
  • Binary FreakBinary Freak Member Posts: 37 ■■□□□□□□□□
    Congratulations on the pass!! :)