Passed CISSP Today - Long Journey

infoseckiinfosecki Member Posts: 6 ■■■□□□□□□□
Glad to finally say I passed the exam. Praise the Lord! I actually felt better about the test the last few times. Didn't feel like I passed this time until the guy said "Congrats!" I am still in disbelief being so used to seeing the paper with 10 domains listed on it saying thanks but try again. I took the last exams at 8am but this time I booked it for noon. I think the few more hours of sleep gave me better focus.

Anyway, I posted awhile back after getting a 696. But with life events and little ones, I had to wait over a year to take again. It was definitely a long hard journey spanning over 5 years - my other scores were 695 and 687 icon_cry.gif. I have about 9 years of security experience mostly in management/operational controls, but this past year in my job I worked a lot with our data center which I think helped a great deal in learning technical concepts. There really is no more valuable learning than on the job.

I read a ton of books and study guides (Conrad, Harris, ISC2, Dummies, etc.). It almost got to the point that I read so many sources that it was confusing me a bit when I had to recall the information. This time around I focused on 11th hour and Gibson's CISSP Rapid Review (his book though not in depth speaks a lot on important concepts). I focused my study the last 2 weeks in reading those books and going back to Shon Harris or YouTube/Wiki to hammer home concepts. If you've seen Professor Messer on YouTube he is really good at speaking about technical concepts in easy to understand language.