Gcfa for508

n8236n8236 Member Posts: 20 ■□□□□□□□□□
Just came off taking the FOR508 (advanced forensics) course with Alissa Torres and I have to give this class a pretty big thumbs up. I'll give a quick run-thru.

I'm not a hacker, programmer, digital forensic examiner, malware or reverse engineer by trade. As a matter of fact, I just left a four year job doing email disaster recovery, email security and eDiscovery. I do have Security+, MCTS and GSEC.

Without much background in digital forensics, this course blew my mind. I probably should have taken FOR408, but I thought the easy-button stuff in that course wasn't worth my time or $ (which I am paying myself). While I have a pretty technical mindset, not taking 408 put me at a disadvantage in not knowing some of the foundations of DF.

The first day was more of a review and presenting the concepts of what will be taught. The next 4 days presented the students with a number of tools on how to extract data of all sorts from memory and disk. Besides using just tools, the concepts behind them were also taught, so you knew their strengths and weaknesses. You were taught to know how to analyze the results. Throughout days 1-5, you are examining thru a single machine's memory and disk image as part of a larger fiction plot as part of your lab exercises. By day 6, you are broken into teams to find out (CSI style) the whole story behind of the attack by examining other machines which were also part of the attack.