Options

Need advice for certification and career path please

AbamnAbamn Registered Users Posts: 1 ■□□□□□□□□□
Hello all, I have a bachelor degree in telecommunications engineering and Diploma in ICT Systems Support Level 2. But after I graduated in 2013 I start working as a web developer. I want to work in IT/Network field. I'm interesting in networking, security, Linux and analysis. What certifications I need to take? Thanks in advance!

Comments

• Options
    Nafe92014Nafe92014 Member Posts: 279 ■■■□□□□□□□
    I would recommend the CompTIA A+, Network+, and Security+ certifications as a starting point. From there, there are multiple paths you can take, it all depends on what specifically you want to specialize in. :)
    Certification Goals 2020: CCNA, Security+

"You have enemies? Good, that means you've stood up for something, sometime in your life." ~Winston S. Churchill
  • Options
    chronos42chronos42 Member Posts: 91 ■■□□□□□□□□
    Considering that you sort of have a background in networking, I'd say maybe start with a CompTIA cert or two (A+ and/or Network+) to get your feet wet in the certification world, and then move onto something more networking-specific. CompTIA certs will help you get your bearings; vendor-specific certs will get you a job. For networking, you'll probably want to look at Cisco certs (CCENT, CCNA, etc.), though Juniper and Brocade are also possibilities, depending on what the job you're looking for requires.
  • Options
    aftereffectoraftereffector Member Posts: 525 ■■■■□□□□□□