Any tips on how to transition into an IT field as a newcomer?

jack99jack99 Member Posts: 5 ■□□□□□□□□□
Not sure if this is the right section. If it is, I do apologize in advance!

I'm looking to transition from a completely unrelated field into IT, possibly IT security/consulting. I don't have a degree in compsci or anything closely related, so I'm practically starting from scratch. What tips would you guys have for a complete noob starting afresh?

I'm going to guess that my past major being completely unrelated means I'm going to have to work toward a BS, compsci being one of the popular starting ones for IT entrants. Online school programs for BSes seem to be becoming a thing. Any thoughts on those? I've been contemplating working part-time and working toward my BS and looking into certifications afterward.

Any/all academic or career advice would be welcome.

Comments

• 10Linefigure10Linefigure Member Posts: 368 ■■■□□□□□□□
    There are people in IT with unrelated Bachelor degrees. Your first step may be to explore fields and companies and ideas. See if you find yourself pulled to specialties such as software/networking/programming/virtualization/database/etc and then once you have one you like, find an entry level course or certification on it and jump in. There are a lot of great online schools especially for IT. But you may need a cert for quick ROI to get your foot in the door while you pursue a degree and higher certs later. -Good luck!
    CCNP R&S, Security+
    B.S. Geography - Business Minor
    MicroMasters - CyberSecurity
    Professional Certificate - IT Project Management
  • NetworkingStudentNetworkingStudent Member Posts: 1,407 ■■■■■■■■□□
    Do you have a BS degree?
    When one door closes, another opens; but we often look so long and so regretfully upon the closed door that we do not see the one which has opened."

--Alexander Graham Bell,
    American inventor
  • jack99jack99 Member Posts: 5 ■□□□□□□□□□
    Do you have a BS degree?