Considering a Degree in IT Management

bugzy3188bugzy3188 Member Posts: 213 ■■■□□□□□□□
Hey all,

I posted something similar on one of the WGU threads but since this is a general education related topic I just wanted to put it out there and get some feedback if possible. Basically I just want to get an idea of whether my thought process here is plausable or completely crazy.

I have been planning my career for quite some time and decided when I got in to IT that I just didnt have time to get a degree before starting in this field, I needed solid work that would allow me to work a 9 to 5, have weekends off, basically everything that you dont get in the retail world. So I started studying, got MS certified, started working Help Desk, am now Cisco certified and I am thinking that it is time to start school. I have always planned on starting school I just havent had time with work, a kid, and my self studies.

My thought process toward my college education is this (and this is where I want to know if I sound crazy) I am fully capable of learning the technical aspects of this career without assistance, furthermore, continuing to get certifications on my own will prove my ability and knowledge on a strictly technical basis, so wouldnt it be kind of a waste for me to get a technical degree? I feel that my schooling may be better spent learning the ins and outs of business/management. Even if I werent going to go in to IT management, Im not saying I wont, but if I didnt, I feel as though the more general scope of a business degree on top of my technical experience and certifications would make more well rounded than a strictly technical path.