Options

Job Out of High School

jacobszalljacobszall Member Posts: 11 ■□□□□□□□□□
Hey!

I'm new to these forums. Today, in my I.T. class at school I stumbled upon this place from Reddit. Since I can't check my email in class, I couldn't post on here till now. Anyways, on to it, eh? The I.T. class that I'm in at my school is, more or less, a waste of three years. I have several certifications (MTA Networking, PowerPoint 2007, MCP through associate of having the MTA).. but those don't mean too much from what I can gather. I'm a senior this year and (since we're really not doing that much in class) I'm studying for the CompTIA A+. I just bought the Mike Meyers book today! Freshman year of high school, we worked on a lot of typing and some Microsoft Office. Sophomore year, we did a little Cisco.. then we moved to MTA (in junior year) because we were told it was better for us. Senior year.. we're trying to get back on track and learn what we should have started to study for awhile ago. I'm curious to know that if I get my A+ certification, what kind of jobs and/or pay I can hope to achieve straight out of high school?

Thanks!

Comments

• Options
    olaHaloolaHalo Member Posts: 748 ■■■■□□□□□□
    Since you got some certs to throw on your resume Id say those classes were not a waste.

With the A+ and your other certs and no experience your looking at entry level jobs doing helpdesk, tech support, or low level desktop support most likely.
    Pay range will be on the lower end. Dont worry about the pay too much. Just get the experience and keep getting certs.
    You'll climb in no time.
    Its so easy to shine in this line of work
  • Options
    Thanks!

Maybe I'm not seeing it right, but the way I view it is that the certifications were more of something to put on the resume. Not an actual benefit to my education, since I didn't learn much of anything from them.
  • Options
    REMOVED UNNECESSARY QUOTED REPLY FROM PREVIOUS POST