managed services vs. in-house support/sys admin offer advice

thekid007thekid007 Member Posts: 33 ■■■□□□□□□□
Hi techexams,

Some of you may remember me from a few months back. I have a couple offers and need some advice. i moved to a new city, so we will see how it goes (toronto!)..

im a recent grad from a network admin program (end of 2013). 6 months of post-grad experience as a sys admin (linux/apple env, and other was a work-term in a microsoft env. i am neutral to microsoft/linux. but i enjoy linux. it would be nice to learn deployments and architecture eventually, something i think i could only get from an MSP? anyway, before the program, i have 1.5 years of IT helpdesk and events part-time. so altogether, about 2 years of partial full-time exp.

the positions below are on the support side, but there should be sys admin work involved as well (which is what im looking for). im not a huge fan of support side, but i can tolerate it.

1) The first position is for in-house IT in the finance sector. it is mainly microsoft shop, with multiple branch offices in this area, and just two people on IT team (including me). i was told there is good opportunity for mentorship, and the last guy im replacing was there for something like 5 years. salary is mid 40s+benefits. advantage could be get to work with it manager on projects. (offer received). position is 'support analyst'. is it okay to ask if i could be called sys admin with such a small team?

2) second position is with an msp for small to medium businesses. id be 1-st level support answering phones, remoting in etc. salary is mid thirties, to 40, with no benefits. (no offer yet).

I feel these positions are more support oriented, perhaps with an exception of #1 which could allow me to work on building some other skills. I have been told i have good comm. and people skills. what do you guys think is the best for me?? I love learning about system administration and working on that.