Resume Critique for Career Changer (Commercial Insurance -> Information Technology)

smath0smath0 Member Posts: 5 ■□□□□□□□□□
Hey All, I'm trying to break into the field of IT after spending about three years working in the field of insurance for commercial enterprises. I've been between jobs for most of 2014 but I've managed to stay busy by earning my Excel 2013 certification, CompTIA Strata, and CompTIA A+. Right now I'm at the local Cisco Networking Academy and I hope to earn my CCENT before the end of the year. I'm a total n00b so any and all criticism is welcome :)https://drive.google.com/file/d/0B0rHp6mWPaa8dDFwVG5MbXJGUGs/edit?usp=sharingThanks, smath0

Comments

• datacombossdatacomboss Member Posts: 304 ■■■□□□□□□□
    As a manager I think the content and structure looks fine. The biggest question I would have is did you actually graduate with a degree in Chemistry from Illinois and if so, why were you in insurance? Considering your lack of experience, knowing you graduated with a tough degree from a great school would make me more interested.
    "If I were to say, 'God, why me?' about the bad things, then I should have said, 'God, why me?' about the good things that happened in my life."

Arthur Ashe

• smath0smath0 Member Posts: 5 ■□□□□□□□□□
    Thank you datacomboss,
    I did successfully graduate (late) with a Bachelor of Science in Chemistry and a minor in Mathematics. I started working in insurance because that's just what I fell into after aimlessly wandering the earth for several years after college :/

I've also left off of my resume a tremendous amount of information regarding my certifications in the world of commercial insurance -- nobody in IT gives a hoot about my CPCU (which is an insurance cert of 8 fairly challenging exams) any more than people in insurance would care about my A+. Including something like that into my profile would count against me, as it would give the impression that I am aimless... which in large part is quite accurate!